Adventures in Newport

Last night I headed up to Newport’s Hofbrauhaus, a German tavern chock full of beer, revelry, and the accordion, with some chemistry buddies (including one half of the flat-fetished pair at cbc). They serve beer in liter and half-liter mugs, which is awesome both for the metric system shoutout and the sheer size of a liter of beer. Unfortunately the throng of people in costume we witnessed isn’t a nightly thing–a Renaissance fair was in town. Highlights of the trip included the aforementioned Renaissance revelers, DERF magazine,  dancing the polka, and watching UK beat LSU. Let the record state that I despise Pat Forde (former Louisvillian and undercover U-of-L bitch), but it was the first article I found.

On the way up last night, I started thinking about the sometimes delicate relationship between sports and science. At Schlotzsky’s Deli, the job that pays the bills, I never hesitate to talk about sports because I figure everyone there either is a sports fan or just doesn’t care. Some scientists, on the other hand, exude a genuine “anti-sports vibe.” I love sports of all kinds (no, NASCAR is not a sport), but I always feel wary about bringing the topic up in front of other chemists. As competitive as I am, I don’t understand the “anti-sport” position at all, but you know those kinds of people when you see them. The kind of people who cringe at the mention of anything “pop culture-y.” The kind of people who look like they’re judging you the second you mention “the game.” I really wish I could understand where people like that are coming from, but I have to admit, I’m a sucker for pop culture and sports (maybe the latter as a result of the former!). Does that make me a bad person? 🙂

5 Comments

  1. Someone mentioned Hofbrauhaus having a microbrewery, right? Maybe I’ll look into getting some of the awesome banana-beer.
    Scientists who like sports: Talk to our new postdoc. He will not shut up about football!

    Reply

  2. I’ve always not understood the vehement anti-sport stance of some folks, especially in the science community. I understand if you don’t like something, that’s your choice. But to be a dick about it just because you don’t get it/understand it/like it is something completely different.

    My old supervisor at my last job was like this. I was discussing a game with one of my coworkers, and this pile of smeg interrupted our conversation to pointedly remind us that he wasn’t much of a sports fan.

    BUT, he did like the Olympics. Specifically, beach volleyball. Women’s beach volleyball. Go fig.

    Reply

  3. Hah! Man, that guy must’ve been a real douche.

    Thinking about it more, I reeeally don’t understand that position. I mean, our society kind of turns on competition, so…what’s so wrong with competition as entertainment?

    Reply

  4. It’s “signaling behavior”- a way to show that you are soooo smart and sophisticated. I’m sure it’s compensation for being picked on or something.

    I hate that kind of crap. If they don’t like sports, fine. I’m not a big fan of turnips. But I won’t sit still for anyone acting like turnip eating is a sign of low-upbringing or retardation.

    De gustibus non disputandum est. Which I think is french for if I want your opinion I’ll beat it out of you.

    Reply

  5. Yeah, this guy was built like a leprechaun. He was about 5’1″, smelled funny, and had little feet. I’m sure he got beat up a lot as a kid. He would always act like I was about to beat him up, too, which is really kind of funny. Like, when I got laid off, he practically ran out of the lab yelling “I had nothing to do with the decision making!” Weirdo.

    And, yeah, he went to M.I.T. for grad school. He liked to point that out. A lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

