The Molecule of the Day is…

Mesitylene! It’s sad that when I want to put off writing an inorganic lab report, I always do mechanisms for organic. Usually, I just get frustrated then realize I still have a lab report to write. This one, however, worked out beautifully. It’s written on the back of a spectrum I have to turn in with the aforementioned lab report, but I scanned it for your viewing pleasure. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you, Aldol Polymerization of Hot Acetone in Acid (First Aldol Omitted).


Oops, forgot to make water leave in the third step. Eh, I’m done with it. On with the lab report.

Leave a Reply

