The sun shines bright on my old Kentucky home

My humblest apologies on the lack of content lately. I’ve been going through a big chemistry burnout phase in the past couple of weeks, and cbc beat me to the punch on the recent Organic Letters paper on TLC-MS (and I’ve just been lazy…). The chemistry will return!

Kudos to UK’s solar car team, which came in eleventh place in a national competition covering 2,400 miles! UK’s car was the only one to feature horizontal shocks and no, their FAQ will assure you, they didn’t have A/C for the trip. Thanks to all the sunshine Tubby Smith’s blowing up people’s asses in Minneapolis-St. Paul, the University of Minnesota finished in a respectable fifth place. In all seriousness, this was certainly a step in the right direction as far as UK’s goal to be top 20 by 2020 goes. It’s nice to see my alma mater making me proud, for once.

3 Comments

  1. In my eyes, 3 or 4 days after ASAP is a little late to cover a paper in a lit post, but I’m probably not in the majority on that.
    The solar car is way cool. I’d love to be involved with the team, but…I’m not an engineer…so I’d be useless.
    Do you think UK stands a chance with the top 20 goal?

    Reply

  2. It’s hard to say right now. I’m leaning towards no, but there’s still time for things to turn around. I think we’re a victim of an unfortunate combination of apathy and an inability to come together and really get things done on a large scale…but I could be wrong. I hope I’m wrong!

    Reply

  3. Working in state government has given me a new perspective on the issue. While Kentuckians on the whole aren’t stupid inbred hicks, I can’t say the same for many of our state legislators. As long as the University has to rely on them for ANYTHING, I think it’s fucked.
    And to exacerbate the problem, there are too many people here who don’t value education. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

